Lunchtime Organ Recital

January 20, 2021
1:15 pm

Roger Sayer, Director of Music

Joseph Rheinberger (1839 – 1901)

Sonata No 7 op127

-       Preludio

-       Andante

-       Finale & Fugue

Max Reger (1873 – 1916)

Dankpsalm op 145 no 2

The programme features music from two prolific German composers but with significantly different styles. Whilst the music of Bach had a great influence on both, Rheinberger’s style is more akin to Beethoven and Schubert whereas Reger’s more towards Wager and Brahms.

This Rheinberger sonata is the seventh of twenty and epitomises the great skill he had with the mastery of fantasy and also counterpoint.

Op. 145 is a collection of seven compositions for organ by Max Reger. He composed the work in three groups in 1915 and 1916. The titles of seven individual character pieces reflect aspects of World War I and Christian feasts. The compositions are based on traditional German hymns, sometimes combining several in one piece. Reger’s last work for organ, it was published, again in three installments, in 1915 and 1916

The short festal Dankpsalm features two Lutheran hymn tunes, one announced quietly whilst the other, played out on full organ on the final page, will be recognised as Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden (Praise the Lord, all ye nations).

Roger Sayer is at the forefront of British choral and organ music. He joined Temple Church in 2013 and has since created an impressive portfolio of concert, recordings and broadcasts. In addition to conducting, he is in demand both as a recitalist and accompanist at home and internationally and his work has also extended into the film world, with his most recent performance as organ soloist for Hans Zimmer’s Oscar nominated score for the motion picture Interstellar.

This performance will be live-streamed on the Church’s YouTube Channel

Lunchtime Organ Recital

January 27, 2021
1:15 pm

Variations de Concert op 1 Joseph Bonnet

Sonata 3 op 88 Joseph Rheinberger

  1. Pastorale. Con moto
  2. Intermezzo. Andante con moto
  3. Fuge. Non troppo allegro

Variations sur un noël op 20 Marcel Dupré

This will be live-streamed on the Church’s YouTube Channel.